Dentsply Sirona Primevision 3D
CBCT capability & upgrade report
Specifications
| Detector | Single imaging detector used for both 2D and 3D modes (per FDA 510(k); exact panel type not disclosed publicly) |
|---|---|
| Pan / Ceph | Integrated 2D + 3D |
| Released | 2026 |
| In service | 0 years |
| Status | Current |
| Market position | Newly FDA-cleared (Feb 2026) panoramic + CBCT unit positioned below the Axeos; panoramic + 3D only, no cephalometric arm |
Where the Dentsply Sirona Primevision 3D stands today
- At 0 years (2026) it's current-generation. There is no hardware reason to replace it — the value left on the table is in how you use it.
- Detector: Single imaging detector used for both 2D and 3D modes (per FDA 510(k); exact panel type not disclosed publicly).
What it already does that most practices don't use
- The same unit does panoramic/ceph as well as 3D — one capture surface you may be sending out for.
Upgrade paths for the Dentsply Sirona Primevision 3D
- UpgradeFDA predicate device is the Axeos (K201140). Uses one shared detector for 2D and 3D and explicitly does NOT offer a cephalometric mode, positioning it as a simpler/lower-tier CBCT than the Axeos.
- ReconfigureSwitching your default to the right FOV/scan mode for implant cases is free, and most practices never do it.
Repair vs. replace: what it costs
Repair: the dominant wear item on any dental CBCT is the X-ray tube — a replacement runs roughly $15,000-$40,000, typically every 3–7 years depending on scan volume. Budget a service contract at about $5,000–$15,000/year and software licensing around $2,000/year. A flat-panel detector is the big unknown — it isn't publicly priced, so get a manufacturer quote before assuming the worst.
Replace: replacement pricing varies by configuration and condition. Before any trade-up, the honest test is whether a networking or software path gets you most of the capability for a fraction of a new unit.
Figures are 2025–26 industry ranges for dental CBCT, not a quote for your exact unit or contract. Sources: Medical Imaging Specialists, DentalTI buyer's guide, The Dental Signal.
Dentsply Sirona Primevision 3D — common questions
- Can Alvea use scans from the Dentsply Sirona Primevision 3D?
- Yes. The Dentsply Sirona Primevision 3D exports a standard DICOM volume, and Alvea converts that volume into a chairside 3D model of the patient's jaw — no new hardware and no new scan. It runs off the cone-beam you already take.
- How much does it cost to repair a Dentsply Sirona Primevision 3D?
- The dominant repair on any dental CBCT is the X-ray tube, which runs roughly $15,000-$40,000 and is typically replaced every 3–7 years by scan volume. Annual service contracts run about $5,000–$15,000, and a flat-panel detector is quoted by the manufacturer rather than listed publicly. These are 2025–26 industry ranges, not a quote for a specific unit.
See what a Dentsply Sirona Primevision 3D scan becomes.
Run the free, independent report on your exact unit — then turn one of your own scans into a 3D model the patient can see before they decide. No new hardware, no new scan.
Check my Dentsply Sirona unit → Try it on one of my scans — first one's free